The Rock Heritage Trail

The Original Kings Own Hotel
The Anzac Gallipoli Panerls
The Historic Main Street


Park the car and step back in time as you take a stroll around The Rock’s main streets. Heritage plaques lead from Federation shopfronts to a quaint cluster of pretty churches. A highlight of the trail are the Gallipoli Panels in the Avenue of Honour.

Click here to download a copy of The-Rock-Heritage-Trail.pdf

With the newly constructed railway station, The Rock underwent a period of growth during the Federation period. By 1901, The Rock had a population of 117 people and had all the shops and tradesmen required to make a town.

In 1884, there were sufficient railway children living in The Rock to warrant a provisional school. The daughters of local pastoralist, John King, were each given freehold land and they subsequently donated blocks for the first two churches, a Presbyterian Church “To be made available to ministers of all denominations: and the Roman Catholic Church".

The hotel, a blacksmith shop and livery stables followed, fronting Urana Street. This growth continued with the opening of the Post Office in 1905.

The town continued to grow and by 1910, the Commonwealth Bank and Bank of NSW had opened, the community sought to form a school of arts, tennis courts were built on the recreation ground and two brick kilns were established to supply bricks for builders.

A new concert hall was erected in corrugated iron, policemen appointed, and in 1911 a telephone exchange opened. The first motor garage opened in 1912 and the second in 1917. Benzine was secured in tins, as was the main fuel of the time, kerosene, until bowsers were erected at kerbsides.

The Rock, ripe for speculative land subdivision, had entered its golden years.

The Rock Heritage Trail also includes the Avenue of Honour, and memorabilia located in it including the Anzac Gallipoli Panels, the Cenotaph and an Armoured Personnel Carrier.