Pleasant Hills


The aptly named village of Pleasant Hills is a hidden treasure, combining a tranquil lifestyle with a vibrant community. Situated 37km from Lockhart, 25km from Henty and 85km from Albury and Wagga Wagga, the picturesque village of Pleasant Hills is set in natural bushland surrounded by rolling hills and farming land.

The impressive old buildings in the village are a living history of the strong Lutheran past, from the wattle and daub Church to the incredible workmanship of the Public Hall. The recently installed heritage plaques add to the wonderful historic ambiance of the town, as do the unusual street signs which feature the street names throughout the village in both English and German.

The Pleasant Hills Community Hotel, NSW’s first community owned hotel, was erected in 1917-18. The hotel licence was sold in 1999 and the hotel closed.  The community banded together and established the first Community Licence in NSW. The hotel reopened on 23 March 2000, and has been a great success and is the focal point for all the community.

For nature lovers, Pleasant Hills is an integral part of the Lockhart Shire Bird Trail, and avid cyclists will love the circular routes and peaceful, undulating roads.

Collectively, The Rock Reserve, Galore Hill, Brookong State Forest, Mundawaddery Travelling Stock Reserve & Cemetery, Milbrulong School Forest, Tootool Wetlands and The Pleasant Hills Esplanade are recognised Bird Trails of the Riverina & South West Slopes.

Download a Map of Pleasant Hills (Click on Map to enlarge).


Looking Back - The History of Pleasant Hills

When the Wendish German settlers arrived in NSW in the late 1800s, they soon discovered that habitable land had already been largely distributed. German settlements could only be established far from Sydney, and the Riverina district became a pilgramage for those seeking to start afresh.

The 145 people of Pleasant Hills and the nearby area of Alma Park retain their close links with its Lutheran heritage. This is a vibrant community steeped in old impressionable buildings with a strong Lutheran heritage. The township has won awards for the Lutheran Cemetery where the headstones are scribed all in German. The flora of the Esplanade in the centre of the village is very pretty, and the public hall built in 1912 features a mural, memorabilia and a BBQ. The wattle-and-daub Lutheran Church built in 1888 still holds services (conducted in English these days). The hotel remains a focal point for the community and now doubles as both the Post Office and a small General store.

The streets of Pleasant Hills display a second set of signage displaying the surnames of prominent families that moved to the area. Names displayed include Terlich, Eulenstein, Schiller, Quast, Pertzel, Lieschke, Knobel, Haberecht, Zucker, Pumpa and Scheuner.

Nearby is an old dam and some abandoned mine shafts from the glorious goldmining days.